World Cup Classification Rules

1. Introduction

1.1 The International Winter Swimming Association World Cup (IWSA World Cup) is a series of global events in male and female winter swimming. Approved stages are appointed by the annual IWSA calendar.

1.2 Swimmers earn points based on their placement in the best 7 individual timed distances at a IWSA World Cup event. These points contribute to both the stage standings and the overall World Cup standings.

1.3 Points are calculated for participants ranked from 1st to 15th place in all age groups.

1.4 In each age group for both men and women, the winner is determined based on the total result from their best 3 events in the IWSA World Cup.

1.5 The overall winner, combining points from the best 3 events in both men and women categories, will be awarded the World Cup.

2. Aims and Objectives

2.1 The main aim of the IWSA World Cup is to promote a healthy lifestyle through winter swimming.

2.2 The active participation of organizations, clubs, officials and approved individuals in any member country who help promote the further development of winter swimming throughout the world.

2.3 Identifying the best winter swimmers of each age group.

2.4 Improving the organization and implementation of advanced technology in major international winter swimming competitions.

2.5 Exchange of experience, advice and support for all future winter swimming events with international organizations and members of IWSA, winter swimming clubs, coaches and athletes.

3. The Organizers and the Host Organization

3.1 General scope of rules of the competition is provided by IWSA.

3.2 Direct competition management relies on the event organizer as approved and sanctioned by IWSA.

4. Terms of the Competition

4.1 IWSA World Cup events adhere to all rules and regulations set. Endurance swim presence in an event is determined by the water temperature of the body of water, according to our water categorization table.

4.2 One stage of the IWSAWorld Cup may be held from 1 to 5 days.

4.3 At each stage of the World Cup, the number of race distances is determined by the event organizer and any swimmer may select their events from the list of available distances.

5. Conditions of Scoring

5.1 The program of the IWSA World Cup is determined by the competition organizers in their event venue and coordinated with the president of the IWSA, based on all agreed terms and conditions.

5.2 Points that are allocated for all competitors taking part in a IWSAWorld Cup event are based upon the approved scoring tables (appendix 1).

5.3 In the IWSA World Cup standings, all competitors are awarded points if the age group on 25, 50, 100, and 200 meter distances has at least 3 competitors. Age groups A, I, J to J4, and EA, EJ2 to EJ3  may consist of at least 2 competitors. For the 450 and 1000 meter distances, there must be at least 1 competitor in the women’s age groups and at least 2 competitors in the men’s age groups. Age groups EA, EJ2 to EJ3 may consist of at least 1 competitor in the women’s age groups and at least 1 competitor in the men’s age groups.

6. Safety Measurements

6.1 In order to ensure the safety of participants, competitions are held in sports facilities approved by IWSA.

6.2 The chief judge is accountable for ensuring competitors’ safety in compliance with the general rules, including providing necessary medical backup facilities for immediate and appropriate care.

6.3 The organizing committee and/or race director bear full legal responsibility for participants’ safety, accuracy of participant information, including their training level, and the behavior of delegation members at the event.

7. Awarding

7.1 Participants securing 1st, 2nd, and 3rd place will receive gold, silver, and bronze medals, respectively.

7.2 The absolute winner among men is determined and awarded the World Cup.

7.3 The absolute winner among women is determined and awarded the World Cup.

7.4 In case of a tie in points, the competitor with higher points from a top-rank championship takes precedence. If rankings remain tied, the competitor with a higher placement in the last championship holds the advantage..

8. Applying to Host the World Cup

8.1 In order to apply, submit an application form to